It Hurts My I’s

Could you find me in the dark
There’s only a lonely light in the corner
And in the corner of your eye
You might not want to see me for what I am

But you’ve known me
You want to know me
Like I don’t want you to know me

Oh, all this glory it hurts my eyes
I know I can’t hide, I just want to try
I know I can’t lie, I can’t help but try
I know I can’t hide, so I’ll just close my eyes

I’ll hide beneath the bed just so I don’t have to stay
I’ll take what I can get, because I want to get away
You can even take the passenger seat, hand me the keys and I will drive
Because my mind seems to drain empty when following the road

If I just stopped to fall onto my knees I know
You could push me in the right direction but I
I’ve been so stubborn building anchors for my feet
And it’s not all that ironic that I’m sinking to the bottom
And now I get the clue

Still you’ve known me
And somewhere deep inside I know I want that to be true

Oh, all this glory it hurts my eyes
Because I am not worthy. I should be despised.
And I’ve so recently discovered that it’s easy to give up hiding
When you finally feel found.

-Zach

Leave a Reply

