Buried Everything

Close my eyes, I can’t do it alone
Take your fingers to the lid and slide them down
As I will inhale and ask you why
Why have I lost it
Why can’t I dream anymore
Why can’t I long for
Love to be in store again
But have I lost it
Have I lost all hope, or is there none
Well, have you found it
On a beach under the sand, under the sun

Because I buried everything that I have ever loved
And I have drank away my dreams ‘till there was none
I have given up on getting up after falling down
And I can’t hang on for very long

So take the wine, move it to my lips
Close your eyes, and we will keep the pain alive
As I will exhale and ask you why
Why have I given you my dreams, it seems, for nothing
Why have I trusted in myself, and again in you
Why’ve I let you bury all my hopes under the sun

And we buried everything that I have ever loved
And we drank away our dreams ‘till there was none
But I can’t hang on for very long

-Zach

Leave a Reply

