As They Left Me For Dead

The beach
The beach’s sand in my lungs
and on my tongue
My wrist
My wrists are bound and tied
Tied behind my back

As my vision seeps back in, it seems up is somewhere to the left
And from this awkward angle, I can see heels slinking away
They’ve left me sinking in the sand
What a pit of lies I did believe

The blood
The blood-stained teeth behind my lips
as I rise to my feet
The bruise
The bruises on my cheeks
But after doing this deed
Well, you look worse than me

-Zach

Leave a Reply

