Pages in Puddles

Cold, we seep through pages
and red, we throw the knives
Are you sure that it is supposed to hurt
just as much now, that you’re pulling it out
Can we break and work together, let me rest
upon this ledge – I swear I will not jump
I swear I will not fall, even when you do let go

I swear that you can trust me
Just let me learn to walk again
You know that I will be here
And I will run before too long
as you smile from a distance –
and it’s ok if you admit it

Dark, all our puddles on the floor
we’ve left behind, we’ve stamped as past
We’ve purposed ourselves to avoid these memories

But I hope that I will see your face again
And maybe the blood stains will have gone by then

-Zach

Leave a Reply

