Untitled for Various Reasons

Ouch, these pins and needles
Pins and needles hurt a little bit
More than I realize, and I didn’t recognize
It is your eyes that pin me to the ground

My feet are frozen under me
And I cannot let go of the weight I’m carrying

Is it time to run away and hide behind the seats
Or do I stand up after I fall down and face you to face now

I need you to know what I want you to know
But last time I felt like I needed to know
More than you wanted me to

Take the key, forget the chains, one is all we need, this is all we need
I know my heart is heavy, but my foot is heavier
And tomorrow I will see you on the side of the state lines
Are you running like I’m running
Are you running after me
Are you trying for me

My feet are frozen under me
So could I stand up and face you to face now

-Zach

Leave a Reply

