I started writing poetry…

I started writing poetry to say things that would be awkward to say for real in front of you
And it’s really not a healthy habit, I think, now that I reflect it off the glass
So I wonder if I could do things in real life
I wonder if I could say what I think while looking right at you, face to face
My bet is no, but I’d pay up to lose on that one in a hurry

And if my hand slips awkwardly away from my pocket, it won’t know where to go but to these keys, it’s my retreat
And if my unsteady social interaction leads me right to you, I’d want to be face to face
And if my hand slips awkwardly away from my pocket, could it find its way to your shoulder, could it find its way to you

I would so much rather have the ability to have a conversation as deep as the darkness that floods my mind while I’m in front of you
And writing sometimes really isn’t happy, as you know, it’s easy because I’m lonely
But that’s about to change in real life
So my heart no longer lives and grows on pages, paper, pen, but face to face
I’ll live and dive through oceans to make this true with you

And if my hands find their way away from my pockets and I leave my place in the corner, I won’t be afraid to say
I won’t be afraid to put words into the air that float over to you
And if I find my way away from the corners, I will find my way to you and see you face to face

And I could tell you how I feel without first writing it out
And it might be awkward, but trust me, that’s how you’ll know it’s me

-Zach

Leave a Reply

