Burden to Breathe

How long does it take for a man to realize that there’s something wrong with his heart?
How long does it take to meet a girl that can knock the wind from his chest?
Will it be obvious that he’s disconnected from where his heart should be?
Will it be obvious that life demands an inhale and exhale to breathe?
Because it’s easier to forget, easier to die.
It’s easier to cling so tight to the things that will not last.

Come on, could you break, could you break my heart?
Love me, could you take, take me back to the start?

Will the man inside these bones ever wonder if his dreams are real?
Will he keep his shoulders held so strong, even though it is a lie?
Can we remember to inhale before we lose our minds?
Can we disappear when all we feel all that we can do is unwind?
Because it’s easier to forget, and it’s easier to die.
It’s easier to cling so tight to the things that will make us cry.

Tell me, did you mean, mean to break my heart?
Love me, is it love, love that kept us apart?

And when he falls to his knees would you please, could you please
Take this burden to breathe,
Take this off my chest?

And when I fall to my knees, would you please, could you please
Take this burden to breathe,
Take this heart from my chest?

-Zach

Leave a Reply

