Wrapped Up In A Leaf

I saw a picture of her eyes, and mine failed to close
They just broke
“No, sir, I’ve never seen her face before, I’m sure she’s not the culprit
Who’s done the deed”
The words, I squeaked in a thimble’s breath
That would come to take their toll on me

A bird wrapped up in a leaf could never learn to fly
But I’ll stay in bed just like this winged friend
Never open, never open, never become who I am
Never soar, never sing, just wrapped up in a leaf

The flowers had their parade while we all sat in the shade
Oblivious to her passing, wrapped up in a leaf
“I’ll let her have her time, I’m giving her this space
It’s better this way”
The words, I squeaked in a thimble’s breath
That would come to take their toll on me

Take some time to notice who’s beside you
And if you can, could you set them free
Free them from their leaves

And if you happen to see that picture of her eyes
The one that broke mine
“Yes, sir, that’s her, she’s been wrapped up in a leaf
She did the deed”
Are the words you should squeak
They’ll come in a thimble’s breath – you’ll see what I mean

-Zach

Leave a Reply

