Good Inside Me Live

There is no melody to this one
No fancy rhyme to fit the lines
Or words to fill the gaps
It’s just me, in a no nonsense, honest way
Finally

What’s taken so long to come around
Is only due to my stubbornness, my selfishness
My desire to live for me
Now everything within me wants to slay
Everything within me
And never again let it grow
So could you hold me back, this evil part of me
And only let the good inside me live
Only let the good inside me live

The song she sang through her eyes
It made me hate the way we all are
We steal visibility, warmth, and attention
But still, we starve for more
And just choke the others out

Can someone tell me who I really am
Does anybody know me and would anybody want to
Give me something more to hear than the sound of a falling tear
Upon this page

I won’t say that I don’t cry
Just like the girl that sang her song through her eyes
I could have seen her heart even if I were blind that night
Sweetheart, keep your heart out, it’s ok
I’ll be here beside you, I won’t let it fall

She sang:

There’s not a melody to this one
No fancy rhyme to fit the lines
Or words to fill in all the gaps
It’s just me, in an honest, no nonsense kind of way
Finally

What’s taken so long to come around
Is only due to my stubbornness, my selfishness
My desire to live for me
Now everything within me wants to slay
Everything within me
And never again let it grow
So could you hold me back, this evil part of me
And only let the good inside me live
Only let the good inside me live

-Zach

2 Responses to “Good Inside Me Live”

  1. The Art of Whimsy Says:

    Good stuff again… remember though, God became physical to redeem the physical. Salvation isn’t only about some kind of nebulous spirituality. Keep it coming, I dig, I dig.

  2. thejambi Says:

    Thanks. And, you’re right – I don’t want to sound like I’m overlooking that at all.


Leave a Reply

