On The Subway

Faces pass on the subway
Winding tunnels at almost blinding speeds
Eyes meet and then look away
Familiarity isn’t what we need

Empty chair, empty bench, empty handrail
All quite comfortably next to me
At the time, I thought you might have chosen the one
That would allow you to run away suddenly

Never show it to the strangers
The fact that we’ve got history
Never give it to the beggars
And say it’s the same old story
Can’t we just lock our eyes and agree
That I just wasn’t right for you
And you weren’t just right for me

Faces pass on the subway
About fifty more each day
And out of all of these people
You’re still the one, the only one
That I’d ever admit I’d want to see

Empty chair, empty bench, empty handrail
All quite comfortably next to me
And at the time, if you’d have asked, I’d admit
That I saved them all for you
I’m saving them all just for you

Close your eyes, close your eyes, I’m not listening
Say my name, say my name, it means everything

Faces pass on the subway
Our eyes meet and then look away…

-Zach

Leave a Reply

