Love Song of The Weak

In the morning, I see the rising sun
And didn’t think to think of you
Driving towards the north end of the state
Sharing the world’s best conversation with a friend
Still, I didn’t think to thank you

Oh, what have my calloused hands built for me?
And when I force myself to see, what will my words be?

May I sing you a love song
Because your grace covers me
Could you love a song so weak
A song from someone like me

And when I am alone, sometimes I’d rather fall asleep
Than read the words from within your very heart
Time after time I long for the attention
Of selfish people like me
And I’m finding again that love just doesn’t work that way

Oh, what have my lustful eyes brought to me?
And when I wipe away the tears, still you are standing here!

May I sing you a love song
Because your grace covers me
Could you love a song so weak
A song from someone like me

Jesus, take away the part of me that disregards you
And prefers my ways above all the great things you do

-Zach

Leave a Reply

