Can I Be Honest

Can I say I’ve given everything to you, but then act like I do
Can I live today like I have lived all my yesterdays
Can I say, “I love you” with a straight face
Is it time to take a look into the mirror
And change a certain part of what I see

I’ve tried to look for you in lonely drives, late at night
And I’ve tried to see your face among the stars
I’ve tried to spell your name by rearranging the complications
That come from studying those made in your image just a little bit too much

Because I’ve paid so close attention to details and still have forgotten you
And I’ve wondered at the air I breathe without giving praise to you
Don’t get me wrong, I have faith that you’ve created everything
Still, I have a hard time seeing you

Help me see you, all you are
Yours, the hands that formed the stars

Is it time to take a look into the mirror
And change a certain part of what I see
Can I be honest and ask you these questions

-Zach

Leave a Reply

