To Get Out [Take 2]

It’s cold being alone
And it’s hard not to play with fire
That grows brighter and brighter

And to get out
I’m finding what I need

It’s hard just to lie in bed
With all these images being drawn in my head
With a broken pencil lead

And I’m not sure I trust my hands
After what I’ve seen them draw out of flames
And the faces I saw grow brighter and brighter
I’m not sure what to make now of my ears
After the lies they’ve whispered to me
Like throwing gas upon a flame

I thought I was ok
After all, I was so cold
So I thought, maybe just a flame
But it set the room ablaze

And to get out
I’m finding what I need
Is outside of my own abilities

-Zach

Leave a Reply

