Nervous Habit

This nervous habit’s coming back again
Picking at my brain and tearing through my head
This old habit’s getting after me again
Reaching for my heart and digging through my skin

And I regret
That I never quite learned
How to fight back

So I guess that I’ll just run away
From everything that looks my way
So I guess that I’ll just run away
Why did I ever look back in the first place?

This nervous habit’s coming back again
Laughing through it’s teeth, staring through my head
This old habit’s coming after me again
Going for the throat to drag me back into the dirt

And I regret
That I never quite learned
How to fight back

So I guess that I’ll just run away
From everything that looks my way
So I guess that I’ll just run away
Why did I ever look back in the first place?

I know that I just can’t run away
I know that I should never look back again
I know that I just can’t run away
But I don’t know how to stop looking back

And I regret
That I never quite learned
How to stop looking back
And that I never quite learned
How to fight back

-Zach

Leave a Reply

