Underneath Catastrophe

This one time, I smiled while alone
But now it’s not that way
No, not that way at all, you see
And when your eye catches a shade of white through my lips
It’s probably all a lie, to tell the truth

If you could maybe fly, I’d not be surprised
The trees have always felt below you
With your head up in the clouds
Or was it me that was simply underneath all catastrophe

This is probably the case, I took a walk to escape
Just to find you missing afterward

And though I said I’d always be around
The rain upon the window became the same as me
And it followed me around
It only made your feet wet, with your head above my clouds
Because I was only digging holes

This one time, I smiled while alone
But I should have known better
Because it was not that way at all, I see

-Zach

Leave a Reply

