Standing in the Dark

I need a hand
I want a shoulder to lean on
And it wouldn’t hurt to cry
Do your bones ring with mine?

Some broken bones can tell
When the rain is coming in
What if mine could feel your pain
And send it searing through my veins

Standing in the dark
With my arms wide open
Under a streetlight
Trying not to speak
I accidentally whisper your name
Soft and sweet, it fastens to the wind

Tonight, there is nothing besides me and you
But if I am this alone
Does that mean you are, too?

-Zach

Leave a Reply

