Glistening Silhouette (In Opposite Boats)

Sunrise, across from the moon
Bleeding red into the sky, straight from the night
Fighting the cool blue of the sea, glistening reflections in my eyes
We dazzle its sight, staring back at each of us, in opposite boats

I have not blinked since dusk, and I don’t expect to again soon
As the water echoes your silhouette
Red as the sun, majestic as the moon
And your boat reaches forward, I will see you now, human glory
The plot is ours to redefine
If we just reach across the water, join one another
And float together as one
The horizon begs us be not alone in vast empty
But clutch so tight as onto life, we’ll leak our dreams and all desire
Fighting the cool blue of the sea, glistening reflections of your silhouette to me
It could knock me down, but I am frozen still
Floating upon a frictionless ocean
Gravity! The earth is moving below you, you’ll never be beneath
Anything! Your eyes are the pearls that men kill to reach

Sunrise, across from the moon
Wearing thin, my chance to move
Straight from the night comes your eyes
Glistening as the ocean
We dazzle its sight, staring back in opposite boats
And I still haven’t blinked, no I still cannot blink

-Zach

Leave a Reply

