Never Far From Me

Dear Lord, who is infinitely close to me
Who knows me better than I know myself
I am far from you, and I have turned away from your face
But your love still stays strong
And though I am far from you
You will never be far from me

You alone have seen my hands bleed
From my clenched fists and nails clawing at my skin
I covered the scars, hiding them from even me
But I never grew numb to the sting of the tears upon my cheek
And on my pillow as I’d try to fall asleep
Still, you were never far from me

Control was never meant to be mine
I can try and try, but I lose it every time
Control was never meant to be mine

-Zach

Leave a Reply

