Hiding Behind

Hiding behind myself
Behind the rain dripping off the roof
In front of my open door
Standing waiting, but unwilling
Hiding behind my thoughts of you

I’ve got my eye on you
Still, the rain will come
But flowers spring to life
After you’ve gone past
And I’ve come out of hiding

The moment that you said goodbye
I started dreaming of falling in love
With a girl who loves me, too

Faith tells me the rain will stop
And this boat I’m in that you’ve built for me
Will send me on my way happily
If you’ll keep an eye on me

But I’m afraid that I’ll keep standing here
Scared to brave the rain
Inhale, hold, exhale, go
My love is worth it all

-Zach

Leave a Reply

