Not Elaborate (Mondays)

It sure is Monday again
I can smell it in the air
And I can sense it once again
in the weight that’s on my heart

I cannot let go
Of all that weighs me down
Even when I turn my head
The scene is all the same
In the front of my mind

But I am not elaborate
Nor close at all to eloquent
And when the world isn’t watching
I cry. I try to ease the pain

I didn’t see the troubles
Coming at me this week
But the Monday that I did
I gave it all to You
And it set me free

Freer than I’ve ever been
Freer than I’ve ever felt
Closer than I’ve ever been to You

So I know that I need to bring it to You
But God, teach me how, because it’s not like before
I don’t understand that I cannot control it
As hard as I try, I cannot control it

But I am not elaborate
Nor close at all to eloquent
And when the world isn’t watching
I want to cry, cry out to You alone
For You alone can ease the pain

-Zach

2 Responses to “Not Elaborate (Mondays)”

  1. Raquel TWG Says:

    JUST in case it wasn’t implied last night…
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.
    :D

    !!!

    You’re awesome. And so is Aaron Morgan who now believes I’m part of some secret society. Funny 30-second conversation.

  2. thejambi Says:

    haha. You’re welcome.

    Secret society!? I wasn’t listening to what he was saying after the first couple sentences… you’ll have to fill me in.


Leave a Reply

