Today’s Nightmare

I’ve been wanting to have a nightmare
Because none of my dreams seem to scare me enough
But I’ve figured it out, why they never haunt my sleep
It’s not inside my eyelids where those images lurk
But they’re right on my iris, outside of daydreams

And I can’t cry enough to get today’s nightmare away
It’s haunting my eyes as I cover my ears
I’m running for cover, but it never gets further away
Than the back of my mind

Will running through the snow
Drive the darkness from my eyes away
Wash them whiter than the covered ground
Greener than the hidden grass
Bluer than the sky beyond the clouds
Where I can fly
Where today’s nightmare’s left behind

-Zach

Leave a Reply

