An Uncertain Goodnight Said With a Sigh

It’s said with a sigh
Today’s goodnight
The irony of which
Is found in watered eyes

It’s said with a sigh
The last goodnight
Everything in my eye
Tells you that I’m lost
In such uncertainty

I don’t know who else could do this
As I think of it
I don’t know who else could be shot right here
And live with it
And carry on
All worries strong
Surrendered to the one who wrote our song

And time slows down
I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday now
But sooner than I know
Friday comes fast but the road ahead stretches in fourfold
And fivefold, seems tenfold

The tick of a clock comes by
Every step I take with my left shoe
But I can’t judge by the racing hearts
Accelerated pace, whether it’s me or time
That’s changing for the worse
Are we just changing for the worse

But I need to let it go
And try to carry on
In such uncertainty

I don’t know who else could do this
As I think of it
I don’t know who else would be here
When it comes down to it…

-Zach

Leave a Reply

