Break My Neck (When I am Mute)

Break my neck
So you can heal my throat and make it right
Because tonight I feel so choked down
Am I scared of losing my tongue?
Well, then let’s put it to work!

Will you have to break my teeth
Ground into gravel to make me taste the truth
That I’m as good as dirt if I’m not moving forward
So give me a face-full, make me a proof of who I am

The sweat beads up, drips, flows, and falls right to the ground
As I kick, as I scream, I squirm and squeeze
But with these sweaty hands, they slip right from your wrist
And am I hopeless!? I’m clawing for relief!

So give me words to say when I am mute so very oft

-Zach

2 Responses to “Break My Neck (When I am Mute)”

  1. Raquel TWG Says:

    The second stanza reminds me of Psalms. When David was talking about his enemies and stuff he mentioned a lot about breaking teeth. Sort of as a lesson to those who were doing wrong.

  2. thejambi Says:

    Definitely. But I always remember where it occurs in this passage..

    He has made my teeth grind on gravel,
    and made me cower in ashes;
        – Lamentations 3:16


Leave a Reply

