Say Your Name

Remembering the first time I heard you say my name
Trying to forget the first time I said yours
Because I fumbled more words than you knew
Here I am now, and I can’t wait to say your name again

All the words I wrote to try and tell myself just how I feel
They seem so far away when I say your name
And I can’t imagine what I’d tell my old self
Knowing that today I’d be calling you by name

When did that happen for you
When did my eyes make you look twice
When did it happen for you
That you’d want to say my name, too

I fumbled more words than you knew
Here I am now, calling you by name

-Zach

Leave a Reply

