Past the Trees and the Moon

It makes me miss you
And I get this feeling trickling down through my spine
Starting with the hairs on my neck
Standing still

Your lips move, mouthing the words I know you know
And you are searching, just like me
Tonight we are afraid, scared
Bleeding, but we can’t feel it
Because in an anxious anticipation
We’re just looking for some light
To see the end of it

So as we sit and wait tonight
Gazing up at the stars, past the trees and past the moon
As we lie awake with so many hours that separate us
Is the distance measured in years
While we increase the lack of sleep
As seen beneath our eyes

But it saddens your beautiful eyes
And the light, it fades with every breath
Getting deeper, I look for your eyes in the sky
Past the trees and the moon
I look for your eyes in the sky
What beautiful eyes

-Zach

Leave a Reply

