Your Words

Your words cut into my heart
You go further than the surface
And I still want more
And after all this time
It’s you that takes the words from my mind
And the words on my heart, I cannot read

All I know is that you came down to find me
And I get to the point
Where I’m not sure if I should blink
Or if I should strive to stare straight ahead
To avoid the tears that I feel coming
From filling my eyes

And now when my heart beats
It’s unexpected
And it rocks me in my seat
Hands folded, sitting down
I cannot move, for I fear
I fear the lights will fade
I fear the time has come
My turn has come
And I scream
I scream out to you
I reach, I am reaching
For your words, they are so true

-Zach

Leave a Reply

