Meant to Be

Why don’t you play me a song tonight
And the things on my to do list will fade one by one
And by your side, we will make a melody
Sing in time, and the stars will echo back our song
Because they love it

Would you ever have believed that we would be the ones
To captivate the stars in the night
Could you ever have believed that we could be the ones
To take the breath of the sky away
And in the stillness of the night as the wind dies down
I’ll rest my head upon your shoulder
And you just know that this was meant to be

Tonight, it’s us that moves the world around
We’re the ones that matter
Please, sing it back just a little bit slower
And I just know that this was meant to be

So why do play that song for me
It sets me still, even in the middle of this dark night
The only light I see is the part of our heart that’s drawing in the stars
And even they know that this was meant to be

-Zach

Leave a Reply

