Cry to Follow

I remember a night when I was too shy to say a word
And I remember more and more as I turn back time
You stepped outside, all alone, not knowing where to go
And from inside, all of me cried to follow you
To give a helping hand, to reach out and say
That you’re not alone, this time

As the sun sets, I can remember a time
Where you stepped into the other room
All alone, not knowing where to turn
You just needed to be by yourself it seemed
But I’m afraid that even more, you needed me
And I was a bit too slow to hold on to you that night
And I am sorry that my shoulder was not yours to cry on
And from inside, all of me cried to follow you
To give a helping hand, to reach out and say
That you’re not alone, this time

Now, I promise you
That when from inside, I cry to follow you
I swear that I will
And my shoulder will be yours
The whole night through

-Zach

Leave a Reply

