These Notes I Play

Calling.. No, nobody hears
So I’ll sneak across the floor
The ghost on the piano
Has got a partner tonight

As I sit down, I play it slow
Because it’ll take a while
To prove what I came to
I just have to make you smile

So I play, from slow to fast and back again
Some heads turn, but your eyes, I haven’t met
But with every note, I make you sway
So I’ll make you dance the night away

I’m watching you from across the room
And I can tell that what I play
Finally puts that smile on your face
Then, in a moment, your eyes meet mine

My heart pounds hard, but I don’t miss a beat
Because I move you, I’m moving you tonight
And with what I play, I draw you nearer
Slowly, you’re drifting softly across the floor

Of course, you’ll start out slow
And with these fingers, I spin you around
Then along with my heart, I pick up the pace
And with my eyes closed, I know
That those footsteps I hear are yours

As the lights grow dim I look up and see
With such a soft pace, you draw closer
And as I stop, you stand
And with these last few notes, I take your hand

-jambi

2 Responses to “These Notes I Play”

  1. alymc Says:

    Mmmmmm yes.
    Love it.
    This is one of my favorites.
    I like this line: “But with every note, I make you sway
    So I’ll make you dance the night away”.
    Yaa..thats really good.

    Also, “Of course, you’ll start out slow
    And with these fingers, I spin you around
    Then along with my heart, I pick up the pace
    And with my eyes closed, I know
    That those footsteps I hear are yours”
    ALL of that. :)

  2. thejambi Says:

    Thanks, Aly :)

    It’s good that you like it since I wrote it Buble inspired.. I like it a lot too. It makes me want to learn how to play the piano.


Leave a Reply

