To Get Out

It’s cold being alone
And it’s hard to stop myself from playing with fire
When it just keeps growing brighter and brighter

And to get out of this
I’m seeking what I need

It’s cold being alone
And sometimes I feel like I’m fighting myself
These thoughts are driving me out of my mind

And to get out of this
I’m finding what I need

There is a battle that needs to be fought … and I am not giving up. Though many are saying I’m foolish, though I’m wounded because I’m not supported by those closest to me, though I’m tired from being harped on; there is only one voice I will listen to.*

There is only one voice I will listen to
And that’s what I need

-Zach

*Thanks to Aly for the inspiration to this one.

2 Responses to “To Get Out”

  1. alymc Says:

    Ok…so my favorite part of this is “And it’s hard to stop myself from playing with fire when it just keeps growing brighter and brighter” ….. sooo good, Zach!

  2. thejambi Says:

    :) Thanks.

    I would say that my favorite part (that’s not your part) is also the beginning. I actually had the beginning of this written a while ago, and after I read your post, I thought it really worked well together. So thanks for that, and letting me use your words for this!


Leave a Reply

