Brake Failure (Lessons Learned From Jaywalking)

I’m almost sorry, sir
But I just hadn’t realized that they changed
The yield for pedestrians rule on campus this morning
You can honk if you want
But I’d sort of rather you express a desire to keep my body intact
Rather than your need to express some sort of anger

Because I really am sorry, but I’ve never done anything different
Maybe you could honk beforehand the next time you plan on brake failure

You know, with what happened today, I just have to say
That sometimes our own selfish frustrations
Can make everyone look like an idiot
If we don’t think about it at first
You can honk if you want, and that’s ok with me
And if I knew who you were, I’d like to apologize
But I just gotta say, we’re both the idiots this time around

Because I really am sorry, but I’ve never done anything different
Maybe you could honk beforehand the next time you plan on brake failure

-jambi

8 Responses to “Brake Failure (Lessons Learned From Jaywalking)”

  1. alymc Says:

    That is hilarious!!!
    I love the “But I just hadn’t realized that they changed
    The yield for pedestrians rule on campus this morning” lines.
    SOOO funny. You’re too good.

  2. thejambi Says:

    lol. But really – you’d only like to think I’m funny. I wrote this in like ten minutes once I got back into my room after almost being hit by a car. True story. The whole thing. And thank you :) :) :)

  3. thejambi Says:

    Also, I’d like to add that I technically wasn’t jaywalking as I was in a crosswalk, and also that it’s not just yield, but STOP for pedestrians.. and I was right next to the sign that said so. Hmm… But I’m glad that “I’m alive”

  4. alymc Says:

    Well…First of all, I will continue to think you’re funny .. because you have only given me reason to believe you are.

    Also if it were me in that situation, I would have pointed to the sign and done something ridiculous, like jump and yell. So, I believe you that you were not in the wrong. Haha. And I too am glad that you can say “I’m Alive” lol. (see, yet another reason to think you’re funny).

  5. thejambi Says:

    lol. Yeah, but since they honked I just decided to get out of there as fast as I could.

    And thanks again :) I do like when I can be funny.

  6. Raquel TWG Says:

    My friend once laid down in the middle of parking lot as a joke and a car was going to crush her so we told her to get up. she got up and started screaming and running in circles. Good times.

  7. thejambi Says:

    lol.. Raquel.. lol..

  8. Raquel TWG Says:

    I just never stop making you laugh, huh?
    (:


Leave a Reply

