From the First Time (I’ve been looking forward to the next)

From the beginning, from the first time
I was looking forward to the next time, the next time
I knew that you were always there for me
And that you would be till the last time

At last, time turns, and it turns out
That you have done so much for me
And me, I need for you to please
Please keep being there for me

I know it now like I never did
That I’ve always felt at home down the street
I think I’ve learned all that I know
After walking through your doors
And I must say, it’s been a while since the first time

And time, it turns, as it turns out
And things down here might fade, fade away
But that’s not what we were made to be
So I thank God that you’ve changed me for eternity

I’ve been thinking when the last time will turn
But the last time won’t come with you and me
Because time and space cannot separate what is made for forever
Time can turn, but it turns out that forever, you’ll be there for me!

I know it now, like I never did
That you have always made me feel at home
I think I’ve learned all that I know
After walking through your doors
And I must say

Through all the times we shared
From the first to the last
As time turns, we’ll see what’s to come
You welcomed me in, and it was more than enough

From the beginning, from the first time
I’ve been looking forward to the next

-Zach

5 Responses to “From the First Time (I’ve been looking forward to the next)”

  1. anon4him Says:

    I was thrown off by the “but that’s not what we were made to be.” I didn’t catch a reference to “being” something anywhere in the intro. Could you please explain what we weren’t made to be?

    Also, it’s nice to have that stronghold, that something or someone who will always be there for you to lift you up when you don’t have the strength to stand. Unfortunately, I think I’ve relied on mine too much. I always fall back on the love of my friends and family, but one day they may not be there for me. When that day comes I’ll need to fall back onto God alone. I pray that when that happens I can take comfort in that God is watching out for me and he is all I need.

    Anon

  2. thejambi Says:

    We weren’t made to be what the line before that is saying, something that is earthly, something that fades away. Something where time matters.

  3. Raquel TWG Says:

    I like the message of the song.
    It’s wonderful.

    And I checked out This Holiday Life because they were on your blogroll and they’re pretty sweet.

  4. thejambi Says:

    Yay for This Holiday Life! If anyone else doesn’t know about them, go check ’em out. They’re one of my favorites.

  5. alymc Says:

    I will certainly check them out and get back to you tomorrow on what I think. :)


Leave a Reply

