Thank You, My Friend, and Goodbye Again

I missed you ever since that day you left
And I’m only over it when your not in my head
Ever since that day I took your hand
Just to say goodbye, just to say goodbye

Our time used to mean so much to me
And now your gone, and now your gone
And could it be that after all these years
I’m seeing you again, seeing you again

And I just can’t say how much it means to me
That you’d take my hand back then
And that you’d take my hand today
mm mmhmm hmm, mm mmhmm mm

How real can this be, after two long years
That I’d see you again, like we never ever left
Best friends don’t seem to fall away
But sometimes they just get split apart

Oh, oh, did you cry like me
Oh, oh, did you lie awake like me
Oh, oh, did you want to go back like me

And I just can’t say how much it means to me
That you’d take my hand back then
And that you’d take my hand today
mm mmhmm hmm, mm mmhmm mm

If I’d only knew it would end again
If I knew I’d have to get you out of my head
If I’d only knew it would end again
I don’t know what I’d do
But I know I need to thank you
For being my best friend

Even if I never see you again
I’d like to thank you
For being my best friend

All these tears and all the trials
May bring us back to where we ended
And getting you out of my head
For the first time was hard enough
So this time I can say right to your eyes
Although there are tears in mine
I know that I won’t forget you
And even if I never see you again
I’d like to thank you
For being my best friend

-Zach

3 Responses to “Thank You, My Friend, and Goodbye Again”

  1. Raquel TWG Says:

    Aw this really hits close to home.
    A have a bunch of close friends that live in other states and I haven’t seen some in 2 or 3 years and I miss them terribly. There was even this one guy who lives in Wisconsin and he wrote me a little note before he left and it said, “Thanks for being my best friend here.” and I haven’t seen him since.
    So it completely matches this poem.
    It’s pretty amazing.

  2. alymc Says:

    Not sure what to make of this one …
    but I do like it … obviously.

  3. thejambi Says:

    Wow, it really does match that, Raquel. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

