Beg and Bleed

You brought me back on to the ground where I once stood so tall
I didn’t think I’d ever stand after I took that fall
But now I know and I believe that you are worth it all
With time it comes, with time it goes, and I finally answered the call

I haven’t seen you in forever, so thank you for coming back
Still you say hello, even with all I lack
I’m never there when you are lonely, it’s always been for me
So take me, break me, change me, save me from all that I see

I know that I love you and I’ll keep trying to love you more
But love has never told us what this love has in store
If I’m right, I’m right, then I can see I’m rotten to the core
Please, please, I beg and bleed, because I know what you asked for

Please, please, I beg and bleed, because I know what you asked for
Please, please, I beg and bleed, because I know what you asked for
When I can’t take it any more and I’ve fallen to the floor
I’ve never fell so hard as when I walked right out the door

You brought me back on to the ground where I once stood so tall
I didn’t think I’d ever stand after I took that fall
But now I know and I believe that you are worth it all
With time it comes, with time it goes, and I finally answered the call

-Zach

16 Responses to “Beg and Bleed”

  1. hannahclark Says:

    You just keep getting better and better with each post. <3

  2. thejambi Says:

    Thanks. To be honest, I need to actually read it. Yeah, I didn’t read it after I wrote it. I will now, though.

  3. Raquel TWG Says:

    Ya know whenever I write something [an essay, poem, comments even, etc.] I have to read it make sure it makes sense and I like it. And for typos, duh. So now I’m going to read this comment over right now. Hehe.
    I sure am unusual (:

  4. thejambi Says:

    lol. No, you’re not the unusual one. That’d be me. There’s people who probably cringe when I tell them I don’t edit.

    Of course, if I’m writing a paper for school, naturally I will edit that. I just don’t edit when I write like this.

  5. Raquel TWG Says:

    Yeah I understand.
    Papers are for a grade so you try to make it as perfect as you can.
    These writings aren’t really graded so you don’t find the need to make them perfect, just make them good and have people like them. Which everyone does so you’re good.

  6. thejambi Says:

    Well, even more than that, I just do not edit these. I find that I simply cannot. After I write them, they are done, and most of the time I just can’t bring myself to change them at all. I’m weird like that.

    For instance, even when I had a class in high school (a creative writing class) and we were supposed to edit our poems.. I couldn’t. I couldn’t change them, because then they wouldn’t be what they were made as, I guess.

  7. Raquel TWG Says:

    Yeah I totally understand!
    Me and my friend stared “a band” when we were like 8 [ha] and I would write the songs, which weren’t very good :P

    Then I’d be scared to show them to my friend because if she didn’t like them then I’d havr to change them and despite how awful they were I did not want to change them because I worked so hard and really didn’t wanna start over.

  8. thejambi Says:

    lol. Maybe it’s like that.. I can’t explain it.. these words are the words that come from the moment, and those are the words that matter, I just can’t change them.

  9. alymc Says:

    Very Good.
    I’m like you often when I write(I think) … although I don’t generally post it, because it’s not very good …
    but, it’s like what you wrote so accurately reflected your heart, mind, emotions, etc. at the moment … it just captures that moment perfectly … if you changed it, it would be changing that point in time to be something it wasn’t.
    If that at all makes sense.

  10. alymc Says:

    Ahhh, good to know we’re on the same page.
    I actually just posted something short on my blog, wow, I’m stepping out. Haha. It’s not very good though, probably a waste of your time…and everyone else’s.

  11. brittneyfoster Says:

    each of our writings are always in the editing process.

    the difference is, when graded, you turn in your last possible edited paper according to the due date.

    our writings should always be open for editing.

    it makes us better writers.

  12. thejambi Says:

    Well.. It’s open to editing.. If I feel that something should be changed, I’ll fix it.. but most of the time I feel like I just can’t touch it. Really, that means I like it how it is.. so yes.

  13. brittneyfoster Says:

    also… commenting on the “capturing” comment…

    our writing is like a photograph

    it’s a picture of ourselves at any given moment

    except, it’s in written form.

    a picture is worth a thousand words…
    what is the value of our words then…
    priceless to give a value to a glimpse into the essence of a writer’s soul?
    perhaps so.

  14. brittneyfoster Says:

    totally understand not touching a piece. i have many that i just can’t change. shorter works are harder to change. but i always find ways to change my papers that i have written… there’s always something i can add or take away or tweak.

  15. thejambi Says:

    Yeah.. and papers (for me, at least) aren’t an extremely emotional expression of something I care about. Ergo, my papers aren’t close to my heart like my writings.

    (I like the word ergo.)


Leave a Reply

