The Daughter of My Father

Help me to show her all that You are in me
Help her to see all that she could possibly be
Help me to be love to her more than I know
Help her to see You wherever she may go

I know I can’t hold on forever
But Your will be done in her
And if it’s what You have in mind
Can I be the one to see her
Become who You want her to be

May You make me into the brother
That I’ve always wanted to be
Lord, I thank You for this sister
This gift is so much greater
Than I ever hoped to receive
Give me a wisdom and passion
And Your words to her I’ll speak

I know I can’t hold on forever
But Your will be done in her
And if it’s what You have in mind
Can I be the one to see her
Become who You want her to be

Help me to show her all that You are
Help her to see all that she could be
Help me to love her like You do
So that through me she might see
All that You want her to be

– Zach

4 Responses to “The Daughter of My Father”

  1. Anon4him Says:

    This is very well written. I’m surprised no one has commented on it yet, though I suppose it is a bit more clear cut than some of your poems. There really isn’t much figurative language, but it’s not always necessary. About the topic, well, I guess I know where you’re coming from, though sometimes it’s difficult to say “If it’s God’s will I will do this or that.” Sometimes I end up praying “Lord I want this,” when what I should be praying is “Lord let me be complete through you.” I think I’ve been doing better lately about praying as I should rather than with selfish intents. The Lord has been good to me so far! I have a lack of debt and a supportive family, what more could I girl want… I suppose I haven’t had ice cream in a while, but there’s no lack of chocolate. “Seek first the Kingdom of Heaven and all these shall be added unto you…” or something like that. Keep writing!

    Anon

  2. thejambi Says:

    You don’t seem to be thinking along the lines of the main part of this one. Like you said, it really isn’t very figurative. It’s just me trying to say “God, this would be an amazing blessing and encouragement to me, but I know I can’t hold on forever, I don’t deserve an opportunity like this, but You are so good that You can use me for good. But, Lord, Your will be done in this sister.”

  3. C Says:

    Well written. (although that seems repetitive on all of your entries)

  4. thejambi Says:

    Thanks.. I try not to expect it, but yeah, it always seems to come.


Leave a Reply

