Sunrise

Gain on us this morning, the sun chasing the shadows
Chasing the shadows and darkness away
You are the hope of warming the wind against my face
You are the life, breathed into the grass beneath me

As the light breaks through, I feel alive again
Awake and renewed, the hope of one more day
One more day the sun breaks through

Gain on us this morning, give light to the dark
Shine through the walls that I’ve put up around me
Pop the bubble I just can’t seem to get past
Let this sunrise begin a revival inside me

As the light breaks through, I feel alive again
Awake and renewed, the hope of one more day
One more day the sun breaks through

I will chase it, run as fast as I can
To see it rise all over again
Let this feeling of sunrise bleed through me
Let this feeling of sunrise break through me

As the light breaks through, I feel alive again
Awake and renewed, the hope of one more day
One more day the sun breaks through

-jambi

7 Responses to “Sunrise”

  1. anon4him Says:

    That poem has a very optimisitic outlook. It has some lovely imagery, and one part actually made me laugh. It was the part about running to see the sunrise again, because you would have to be running away from it to see it rise again, and to see it you’d actually have to be looking over your shoulder or back peddling. It would be quite a site to see. Imagine if you ran over a tree root while you were watching the sunrise. Now that would be funny. Anyway, sunrises are quite a beautiful sight. I’m usually not awake early enough to see them, so I prefer sunsets.

    Anon

  2. thejambi Says:

    To be honest, I’ve never really watched a sunrise. I think I could get into the habit of it, though, especially if I were closer to someplace beautiful for that kind of thing. Maybe I’ll try going to the beach some early morning during the school year (rises in the east, sets in the west.. dang). And, I’ve always loved the idea of trying to outrun the sun to see it rise again. I like this one, really – I am usually optimistic, (as a person) so I like my optimistic writings.

  3. anon4him Says:

    why dang?

  4. thejambi Says:

    lol. I’d be at a beach on Lake Michigan, facing towards the west. The sun wouldn’t rise over the water.

  5. anon4him Says:

    ah, i see… perhaps there are some land-locked lakes(of a smaller proportion) over there. There must be some body of water that you could get on the other side of… hmm… but then you wouldn’t exactly see the sun rising over the water… it’d more be the trees/houses/etc. on the other side. I see your problem now. Perhaps you just need to take a trip to the east coast… or just the other side of Michigan.

  6. Alymc Says:

    I like your writing quite a lot. You have talent.
    I’m adding you to my blogroll ( if you don’t mind), however, my blogroll is more for me than it is for anyone else, because not many people read my blog. ;)

  7. alymc Says:

    Sure thing. And, you should most definitely keep writing. I enjoy it a lot, as I’m sure others do as well. I always say that as long as at least one person is taking something away from what I’m doing, then I shall continue. And for you, I am that at least one person. Haha ;)


Leave a Reply

