Change

Here I am for the more than second time
I’m paying with change from my pockets
See I’m down to the last of what I’ve got
But I’m not through, because I know that nothing can stop it

Here I am again, alone for the more than second time
I’m paying with change from my pockets
But I’d have so much more if I had you
And I’m not through, because I feel that nothing can stop it

There you are again, while I’m alone tonight
I’m paying with change from my pockets
But I’d have so much more if I gave it all to you
And I will, because I don’t want anything to stop it

Here we are again, my eyes meeting yours
For a moment I see nothing else but you and your eyes
And even I feel gone, so it’s hard to say hello
But I will this time, and I won’t let anything stop it

-jambi

3 Responses to “Change”

  1. anon4him Says:

    Looks like you’ve been busy. Turning out two poems a day could get pretty draining.

    Ok, so should there be a “the” before second time. You wrote it that way twice, so it’s likely that you left it out on purpose, but I just thought I’d mention it anyway. The third line of the third stanza caught my attention and made me think about tithing and giving. If I wasn’t so selfish with my money, I would have so much more. No matter. This was yet another good poem.

    Anon

  2. thejambi Says:

    You mean, I need to move the ‘the’ that is already there? Because it wouldn’t be right if I said ‘for the more than the..’

    I mean, ‘for the more than second time’ is like ‘for the second time’ except (this is where I’m not too sure on the rules, but it makes perfect sense to me) there’s an adverb (I think adverbs modify verbs and adjectives?) on ‘second.’ You know, like, I could have said, ‘for the insanely extreme second time.’ But I admit I have no clue what I’m talking about.

    I might be wrong, but I won’t change this one, I did want it that way.

    – Zach

  3. anon4him Says:

    You are perfectly correct. It seems that my brain was looking for the ‘the’ in the place it would normally be and did not see it the first time.


Leave a Reply

