Part of Me and Part of You

In the back, where you may not belong
Head down, eyes may well be closed
As you follow their voices, you follow her voice

Now you must know, it isn’t always like this
Usually it’s me, in the back, lost in thought
With hands in my pockets, I follow her voice

Part of me knows you’re inside there somewhere
Part of me believes that you want to share that part of you
I don’t know what keeps it inside us
But part of me knows it won’t be too hard
To share that part of you

In the back again, something can’t be right
I want you to be open, I want you to know that I care
If you let me let you know, can you still hear her voice?

Now you must know, I think we all have this in common
We’re closed up to each other and we don’t share our hearts
Just keep your hands in your pockets if you can’t hear her voice

Part of me knows you’re inside there somewhere
Part of me believes that you want to share that part of you
I don’t know what keeps it inside us
But part of me knows it won’t be too hard
To share that part of you

Part of me wants it to be back like it was
And I want that part of me to be right
I’ll take the back of the line to let you get ahead
And you can share that part of you

-jambi

3 Responses to “Part of Me and Part of You”

  1. Anon Says:

    This is really deep. You just have to sit and let it soak in for a few minutes. Now the “her voice” in your poem, is that wisdom? I know that wisdom is talked about as female in the bible. I hope that you’re not suggesting that God is a she, and I’m nearly certain that you’re not. So, I’m not sure why I went off on that short tangent, but this is really good. It makes me want to cry though. I’m not sure why. I don’t think they’d be tears of sadness or tears of joy; I think they’d be more of uncertainty or hope. I don’t know what I’m talking about. So, I think I’ll just leave it at I like this poem a lot.

    Anon

  2. thejambi Says:

    Like most of what I write, I can’t say that everything is symbolic of something else, exactly. But for this, wisdom would be a very good interpretation of ‘her’ in this.

    Thank you very much.

  3. Raquel :D Says:

    Oh yeah Wavorly’s really good.
    I have the song on my blog stuck in my head :/

    But I love the lyrics.


Leave a Reply

