The Umbrella

I can’t see your face
But thank you for coming
I can’t see your mind
But thanks for showing your heart
And now I can’t see the rain
So thank you for this umbrella

When you’re all alone in the rain
There’s something someone can do
Whether they stick around or
They just run away
Sometimes we can all use an umbrella

I couldn’t see your face
And you don’t need to thank me
I couldn’t see your mind
But I could feel your heart
Through this pouring rain
Thank you, for taking my umbrella

When you’re all alone in the rain
There’s something someone can do
Whether they stick around or
They just run away
Sometimes we can all use an umbrella

I saw you alone in the rain
And I knew it was the least I could do
I hope you didn’t want me to stick around
I just thought you could use my umbrella

-jambi

4 Responses to “The Umbrella”

  1. Raquel :D Says:

    Ah it’s like dejavu!
    My pastor is constantly saying that Christians are covered with God’s blessings like if he’s letting us stand under his umbrella. And I know it’s probably not what you’re writing about but this reminded me of that [:

  2. anon4him Says:

    I couldn’t think of an interpretation myself for this poem, but I like Raquel’s answer, even if it’s not what this poem is about.

  3. thejambi Says:

    What if it was just about giving away an umbrella?.. It almost is. I’ll write up a bit for it if I get around to it. Of course, I try and write about multiple things at once, so what Raquel said is definitely a part of it.

    Anon, did you read Hands and Plans? That was my attempt at ‘upbeat’ or ‘positive’ for you.

  4. Anon Says:

    Yes I did. Somehow I thought I had commented on it, but I guess not. I liked it very much. :-) Thank you.


Leave a Reply

