White Walls and Red Words

Is there more to life than this?
Than hanging upside down from the bed surrounded by white walls?
Taking in the life of the red words from the pages from the hidden shelf with trust my heart and new life in my soul
And I know that these red words from those pages tell a story that could never be heard too many times.

And I remember

How it came down to me
With my head in my hands, peeking through my fingers at the answers from a hidden shelf against that white wall beside my bed

Is there more to life than this?
Than hanging upside down from the bed where I stare myself to sleep at night?
Because the wall doesn’t ever have anything else to say when I pour out my life in a breath without closing my eyes
And I know that from its chipped white paint that this wall has heard my story a few too many times

And I wonder

How did it come down to this?
With my head in my hands, I’m peeking through my fingers at the answers from a hidden shelf against that white wall beside my bed

Why didn’t that white wall say it was here all along?
Because those pages give so much more than my empty words

There’s no more to life
Than the One who wrote those words
There’s no more to life
Than the One who wrote those red words

-jambi

Read behind the words

Leave a Reply

