Without Grace (Do I Make a Sound?)

I am broken and beaten and dragged away
from all of You said I could be
I am shattered to pieces on the ground
my soul is downcast within me
I am fallen to my knees in the forest
shouting and calling to deaf ears

Do I make a sound?

I know that I am nothing
If not for You
I know that I am nothing
If not for grace
Where would I be, my love
Without grace

On my knees I turn and drop my gaze
from all that is left behind
But there is a hope left in my mind
Because of the Lord’s great love

We are not consumed

I know that I am nothing
If not for You
I know that I am nothing
If not for grace
Where would I be, my love
Without grace

In the middle of the forest
Do I make a sound?
Fallen to my knees
Do I make a sound?

It’s only by grace
that we can make a sound
It’s only by grace
that we can make a sound

-jambi
(with help from Lamentations 3)

Leave a Reply

